Skip to content

I’ve Been to a Marvellous Party

July 1, 2010

Hats off to Julie at Vintage & Cake for a marvellous party last Sunday to celebrate her company’s first birthday.

Vintage & Cake supplies vintage china and cakes for weddings, parties and other events so what better way to celebrate their premier anniversaire than with a tea party?  Julie asked me along to sing some of my favourite songs from the 1920s, 30s, 40s and 50s and add a suitably sophisticated vintage atmosphere to the proceedings and I was delighted to do so.

Vintage and Cake's birthday party

The venue was perfect – the Thomas Cook Memorial Hall in Melbourne, Derbyshire – and looked wonderful.  Julie had decorated it with specially-made bunting and the tables were laid with her finest china.  The hall was built in the 1890s so was ideal for a vintage event like Julie’s.  In fact, it would make a brilliant venue for an intimate vintage wedding celebration.

Entertaining at Vintage & Cake's birthday party

There was a small stage in the hall (plenty big enough for me to set up my equipment) and I sang two half-hour sets during the afternoon featuring great songs like “Chattanooga Choo Choo”, “Cheek to Cheek” and “Pennies From Heaven”.  I also included the beautiful 1934 Harry Warren/Al Dubin number “I Only Have Eyes For You” which I’ve recently added to my repertoire as well as a lovely new arrangement of the 1937 Rodgers and Hart evergreen “Where or When”.

Simon with two of the guests at Vintage & Cake's party

The company was delightful cakes were, of course, splendid.  I had to wait until I’d finished working to partake – sponge and icing aren’t a great idea when you’re singing – but it was well worth the wait!

Happy Birthday Vintage & Cake.  Many happy returns!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

