Skip to content

“Let’s Do It (Let’s Fall in Love)” – Cole Porter

July 7, 2010

I’ve added a terrific new number to my repertoire of vintage songs from the 1920s, 1930s and 1940s – “Let’s Do It (Let’s Fall in Love)” by Cole Porter.

Cole Porter

It’s a perfect song for my act and will go down particularly well at weddings I think.  I’ve wanted to include it for some time and recently I finally found just the right backing track.

Cole Porter wrote the song in 1928 for the show “Paris”.  It opens with what must be some of the most famous lines in popular song, “Birds do it, bees do it/Even educated fleas do it/Let’s do it, let’s fall in love”.  I’m always interested to know more about the songs I sing and their origins and delving into this particular number I learned that those opening lines aren’t the ones that Cole Porter originally wrote for the song.  Originally it began with the lines “Chinks do it, Japs do it/Up in Lapland little Laps do it”.  Porter changed them when he realised the offence they caused.  On iTunes you can buy a version by Billie Holiday that contains the original lyrics.

There are so many brilliant lines in the song that the only problem with the arrangement that I’m using is that I’ve had to be judicious in the choice of verses I sing.  The original has far more than I can fit in so some great lines have had to be missed out – lines such as “Penguins in flocks, on the rocks, do it/ Even little cuckoos, in their clocks, do it.”  My favourite couplet is “In shallow sholes English soles do it/Goldfish in the privacy of bowls do it” which I think is just wonderful.

I’m looking forward to giving the song its first public airing on Saturday.  I’ve been booked to sing at a 70th birthday party in Stockport and shall be adding it to one of my sets on the night.

Leave a Reply

