Skip to content

Moira Tovey’s 70th Birthday Party in Stockport

July 14, 2010

I spent a lovely evening last Saturday in Stockport, near Manchester, singing at a 70th birthday party.  The party was held at the KRO Bar in the Heaton Moor area of Stockport in honour of Moira Tovey.

Simon Partridge with Moira at her 70th birthday party celebrations

I sang two fifty-minute sets.  I started with some of the more laid-back numbers from my repertoire including “Blue Skies”, “The Nearness of You” and “Autumn Leaves” while the guests enjoyed dessert.  When the meal was over we raised the tempo and there was plenty of dancing to “Cheek to Cheek”, “Let’s Face the Music and Dance” and “The Way You Look Tonight”.  Sandra had told me that her mum is a big Jim Reeves fan so I sang a special swing version of “I Love You Because” which was huge fun to perform.

Moira’s daughter Sandra had organised the party for her mum’s 70th birthday and it really was a delightful evening with family and friends gathered together to celebrate with the sprightly septeugenerian.  Everyone had a great time (myself included!).

Many happy returns, Moira!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sandra Tovey permalink
    July 18, 2010 2:22 pm

    It was a wonderful evening and everyone thoroughly enjoyed your singing, a perfect addition to the birthday celebration. Organising an event can be extremely time consuming and stressful and I just wish everyone I dealt with was as friendly, helpful, professional and reliable as Simon Partridge, I highly recommend Simon for any event, large or small. The aim of the evening was to make it a night to remember and Simon ensured this was the case. Mum is already talking about doing it all over again.

Leave a Reply

