Skip to content

Vintage Inspiration Board for Gentlemen

March 2, 2011

Wedding blogs are always putting together “inspiration boards” to give brides-to-be ideas for aspects of their wedding day, particularly clothing and hair and so on.  It occurred to me the other day that you never seem to see any offering help to the groom or men in general.

I started thinking about the people who have influenced my career and style and wth this in mind I decided to put together my own little inspiration board for gentlemen out there in search of vintage 1930s/1940s style inspiration and ideas.

Vintage Inspiration Board for Gentlemen

Clockwise from top left: Gene Kelly, Humphrey Bogart, James Stewart, Fred Astaire, Matt Monro, Bing Crosby and David Niven. Centre: Al Bowlly

I can’t help thinking that the title of this post sound like some kind of official inquisition!  Expect a letter any day now – “Sir, you are hereby called to appear before The Vintage Inspiration Board for Gentlemen”!

I don’t know how much use this will be to anyone, but it was great fun to put together.  All of these men have, in some way, shaped who I am and what I do.  There are lots of other chaps I could have included so maybe I’ll do another one – what do you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 11:28 pm

    Hi Simon, this is a great idea! As a bride-to-be I am having all the fun but it’s true the men do get left out! Your site is fantastic, I stumbled across it while searching for “retro weddings” in Google. I was brought up in Handsacre and now live up in Scotland, imagine my surprise when I saw you are Lichfield based! In any case good luck for your future endeavors, all the best!

  2. March 15, 2011 10:34 am

    Exactly! Why should brides have a monopoly on dressing up for the wedding?

Leave a Reply

