Skip to content

Hats Off to Ann at Eighty!

July 27, 2011

Looking at some of my recent posts you may be forgiven for thinking that I only sing at weddings so I thought I’d tell you about a rather splendid birthday party I attended last weekend.

Simon Partridge with Ann at her 80th birthday party

Ann turned 80 last December, but chose to wait until the warm summer weather arrived before holding her party which took place at the village hall in Fulford in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside.

The village hall in Fulford, Staffordshire

The hall was packed with Ann’s family and friends and a “Mad Hatter’s Tea Party” theme ensured that everyone donned suitable headgear to join the celebrations.

The guests at Ann's 80th birthday party

It was a lovely afternoon and as guests chatted and sipped champagne I serenaded them with Ann’s own selection of songs from my repertoire.  I’m always happy to let people choose what songs I perform for their event and Ann’s excellent choices included “The Very Thought of You”, “I’m in the Mood for Love” and, naturally, “Top Hat, White Tie and Tails”.

Many happy returns, Ann!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 6:16 pm

    Thank you so much Simon – we loved your performance at the Fulford party!!

Leave a Reply

