Skip to content

I Am Not a Camera

March 16, 2012

The great American landscape photographer Ansel Adams said that “the single most important component of any camera is the twelve inches behind it”.  In which case my own humble compact digital camera is very poorly equipped.  I’m just a happy snapper and I’m pleased if occasionally I somehow manage to capture an image that actually bears some resemblance to the scene in front of me.

I’d like though, if I may, to introduce you to Gemma Williams, the owner of a camera that clearly has a whole foot of top-notch apparatus behind it and the person who took this rather splendid photograph:

Vintage wedding singer Simon Partridge photographed by Gemma Williams

The location was Parkfields Country House in Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, last October where I had been booked to sing at a wedding reception.  I’m just making final preparations for my performance – most probably running through the words to “Let’s Misbehave”, the song that the bride and groom had requested for their first dance and which I’d learned for them specially with only a few days’ notice.

I didn’t even know the photo existed until Gemma kindly emailed it to me a couple of days ago and I was absolutely bowled over by it.  She’s captures a side of my work (and me) that people don’t normally see and I love the mood of the picture.

Gemma Williams is based in Herefordshire and works as a wedding photographer in Herefordshire, Worcestershire, Shropshire and Gloucestershire as well as throughout the UK.  She also does portrait shoots of families, children, and pets and I would urge you to check out more of her work on the Gemma Williams Photography website.

She’s a talented lenswoman as well as being a thoroughly splendid human being to boot and the happy postscript to all this is that I shall have the pleasure of singing at Gemma’s own wedding in May.  I will, naturally, share that here on my blog although I’m afraid you will have to settle for my own happy-amateur snaps of the day!

Leave a Reply

