Skip to content

Home is Where the Hand-Embroidered Heart is – Nicola and John’s Lichfield Wedding

May 24, 2012

Vintage chic inspired wedding favours

I get to travel all over the country singing at events and wonderful weddings and I love that aspect of my job, but sometimes it’s even nicer just to stay home.  That’s why it was such a pleasure to sing for Nicola and John in my home city of Lichfield in Staffordshire.  Their wedding breakfast was in the splendid Guildhall which is right in the heart of the city.

Lichfield Guildhall

The original Guildhall was built in the 14th century and the current building was erected in the mid-1800s on the remains of previous incarnations.  What emerged was a glorious example of Victorian gothic architecture.

Lichfield Guildhall interior

The interior is just as impressive with its wood-panelled walls, high pitched roof and hammer beams.  At the north end is a beautiful Victorian stained glass window which was originally housed in Lichfield’s famous triple-spired Cathedral and was transferred to the Guildhall in 1891.

The victorian stained glass window in Lichfield Guildhall

Nicola and John had put in a huge amount of work to produce a wonderful vintage-themed wedding meal and the attention to detail was enormous.

Vintage table settings at Lichfield Guildhall

Vintage chic wedding table numbers

The table that held the wedding guest book was adorned with a vintage suitcase full of old family wedding photographs.

Vintage suitcase of wedding memories

Even the wine was vintage-inspired!

Vintage-inpired burlesque wine bottle at vintage wedding

Before the wedding guests took their seats Nicola and John couldn’t resist posing for a photograph with my vintage-style microphone (though they politely declined my offer to let them sing a number or two!).

The bride and groom with my vintage-style microphone

I was positioned on the stage at the south end of the Guildhall where I had a great view of the wedding breakfast and I serenaded Nicola and John’s guests with ninety-minutes of vintage songs from my repertoire.

Vintage chic wedding music

A wonderful afternoon sped by far too quickly, but before I left I managed to get a quick photo with the bride and groom for my scrapbook.

Nicola and John with vintage wedding singer Simon Partridge at their Staffordshire wedding

I thoroughly enjoyed singing for Nicola and John and after they had returned from honeymoon they sent me a lovely thank-you letter:

“Your performance on the day was absolutely remarkable and unique.  We were so pleased you were able to perform for us and we will treasure your special contribution forever…. Thank you for all your efforts in making our wedding day such a special occasion.”

The pleasure was all mine and I wish the new Mr and Mrs Cole every happiness for their future together.

The new Mr and Mrs Cole outside Lichfield Guildhall

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

