Skip to content

Whatton House Wedding Open Day

August 30, 2012

I had a marvelous time last weekend singing at Whatton House and Gardens‘ Wedding Open Day.

Whatton House and Gardens, Leicestershire wedding venue

Although Whatton House itself is over two hundred years old this beautiful building is one of the East Midland’s newest wedding venues.  The location for the open day was a splendid traditional pole marquee in the house’s beautiful gardens.

Traditional pole marquee at Leicestershie wedding venue Whatton House

The day was a chance to meet potential customers and catch up with some old acquaintances including wedding stylist and florist Michele Gledhill whom I first met when we both worked on David and Lee’s vintage-themed wedding last year (which you can read about here).  As part of her display Michele had these wonderful flowers:

Wedding flowers by Michele Gledhill at Whatton House and Gardens wedding open day

I also got to meet some wedding suppliers that I haven’t yet had the chance to work with.  Lisa from The Melbourne Cake Company makes the most fabulous wedding confections.  I was particularly taken with this birdcage cake:

Bird cage wedding cake from The Melbourne Cake Company in Derbyshire

I can never resisit a nice bit of vintage china so I was immediately drawn to Vintage Party‘s beautiful wares:

Vintage china cup and saucer from Vintage Party

Vintage crockery from Vintage Party china hire and styling

The Poppy Trading Company provide vintage furniture for hire to couples looking to add a little extra something to their wedding venue.  The company is run by Oliver and Charlotte who brought a selection of their vintage rental items along to Whatton House including this great antique typewriter:

Vintage typewriter for hire from The Poppy Trading Company

And I loved this beautiful HMV gramophone:

Vintage gramophone for hire from The Poppy Trading Company in Uttoxeter

Sadly, it doesn’t work, but it looks fantastic and you could always book ME to provide the elegant vintage sounds for your big day!

My thanks to Abbi and Lydia from “Save the Date” magazine for organising the day and to Amanda Eastwood and all the team at Whatton House and Gardens for making me feel so welcome at their wonderful venue.  I can’t wait to sing there again!

To find out more about Whatton House and Gardens visit their website here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 3:01 pm

    Oh this looks wonderful! How perfect would that typewriter be if your name was actually Oliver?!

    I’ve heard of Whatton House, it looks like a gorgeous venue for a wedding, all the better that it’s in the East Midlands. I hope I get the chance to go there one day!

    ps. I love that last photograph. I hear you can get wonderful working HMV reproduction gramophones, my friend has one and it looks super in their sitting room.

Leave a Reply

