Skip to content

A Sort of Tender Curiosity

January 30, 2013

Look out.  Gatsby is coming.

The Great Gatsby 2013

It’s not released in the UK until May, but the new film adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s 1925 novel is already creating quite a stir.  I have to say that I’ve not yet been quite whipped into a frenzy by it myself.  I must confess that the presence of Leonardo DiCaprio in the eponymous role troubles me somewhat, but, to borrow a phrase from the novel itself, I am harbouring “a sort of tender curiosity” towards it and for two good reasons.

Firstly, it’s directed by Baz Luhrmann, a director who is responsible for two of my all-time favourite films; the sublime “Strictly Ballroom”:

"Strictly Ballroom" 1992

and the wonderful “Moulin Rouge”:

"Moulin Rouge" 2001

Secondly, I adore the style of the 1920s and judging by these shots the film will be a veritable feast for the eyes:

Leonardo DiCaprio and Carey Mulligan in Baz Luhrmann's  "The Great Gatsby"

A scene from 2013's "The Great Gatsby" directed by Baz Luhrmann

Carey Mulligan in Baz Luhrmann's "The Great Gatsby"

Tobey Maguire and Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Great Gatsby"

It will be interesting to see how the new version compares with the 1974 version which starred Robert Redford:

Robert Redford in "The Great Gatsby" (1974 version)

and Mia Farrow:

Mia Farrow as Daisy Buchanan in "The Great Gatsby"

Of course I can’t deny that this renewed interest in all things 1920s isn’t great for business too.  I’ve already taken several bookings for Gatsby and 1920s-themed weddings and parties for later in the year.  My repertoire of songs from that era provides the perfect atmosphere for any event emulating the glamour of the so-called Jazz Age.

I await the release of “The Great Gatsby” with interest and look forward to a swinging summer of bob-haired flappers and dapper gents partying like it’s 1922!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 3, 2013 2:57 pm

    I am really looking forward to this film – it was my favourite book I read at school, and I love the 1920s style!

Leave a Reply

